University of Pretoria Logo
English |  Afrikaans |    
Faculty of Engineering, Built Environment & IT

Academic Programmes   

School of Engineering

The School of Engineering is chaired by Prof Josua Meyer and offers undergraduate and postgraduate programmes in the following disciplines: Chemical Engineering; Civil and Biosystems Engineering; Electrical, Electronic and Computer Engineering; Engineering and Technology Management (postgraduate only); Industrial and Systems Engineering; Materials Science and Metallurgical Engineering; Mechanical and Aeronautical Engineering, and Mining Engineering. All the undergraduate programmes are presently accredited by the Engineering Council of South Africa (ECSA).

School for the Built Environment 

The School for the Built Environment is the largest of its kind in the country. Undergraduate and postgraduate degrees are offered in Architecture, Landscape Architecture, Interior Architecture, Quantity Surveying, Construction Management, and Town and Regional Planning. At postgraduate level, the school offers BArch(Hons), BInt(Hons), BL(Hons), MArch, MInt, ML, BSc(Hons), MSc, MT&RP and PhD degrees.

School of Information Technology 

The School of Information Technology is a unique institution for tertiary education in the field of Information Technology. Established in April 1998, the school consists of the following departments: Computer Science, Informatics and Information Science. Close links also exist with the Department of Electrical, Electronic and Computer Engineering. The integration of the three academic departments into one school has brought considerable advantages for the academic programmes offered. Programmes on offer include: B.IT, M.IT and PhD(IT), as well as BSc(CS), BSc(IT), BCom(Inf) and B.IS(Multimedia), each with postgraduate options.