University of Pretoria Logo
English |  Afrikaans |    

TuksRugby : Tuks 1 names changed team

Posted on 18 February 2011

Injuries to Deon Helberg (right wing) and No 8 Jono Ross as well as the three week suspension of outside centre Jean Du Plessis for speartackling a TUT opponent impacted directly on the selection of Tuks 1's 23 for the FNB Varsity Cup match against NWU Pukke 1 on Monday in Potchefstroom.

Helberg is replaced at No 14 by the versatile Boeboes Coetzee, Arno van Zyl moves from the bench to man the vacant outside centre spot, whilst Ross is replaced by Arno Botha, deemed in Blue Bulls country as one of the most promising young loose forwards in South Africa.

The Tuks 1 coaches also made three significant tactical changes. Up front Nqubeko Zulu moves from flank to lock, replacing Franco Mostert. Wesley Kotze takes over the No 7 jersey. Zulu’s switch and Kotze’s promotion from the bench to the starting XV can only be seen as an effort to beef up the Tuks pack for the physical Pukke onslaught.

In the back Danie Faasen takes over from Neil de Bruin at scrumhalf, meaning that Tuks will now field a proven combination at No 9 and 10 as Fassen and fly half Marnitz Boshoff have played together for the Blue Bulls.

There are also changes on the bench, one seeing the long awaited return of ex-Matie centre Dabeon Draghoender.

The Tuks 1 team is:

Jurgen Visser; Boeboes Coetzee, Arno van Zyl, Wesley Dunlop ©, Hayden Groepes; Marnitz Boshoff, Danie Faasen; Arno Botha, Wesley Kotze, Warwick Tecklenberg, Nqubeko Zulu, MB Lusaseni, Grant Kemp, Robbie Coetzee, Vincent Koch. REPLACEMENTS: Chris Crous, Jean Rossouw, Franco Mostert, Jacques Verwey, Clayton Stewart, Dabeon Draghoender, Dirk Dippenaar, Juan Schoeman.

Bookmark this page: