University of Pretoria Logo
English |  Afrikaans |    
Faculty of Law

The Faculty offers one undergraduate programme, the LLB. This programme equips students for the legal profession and various other fields. The LLB is the basic requirement for entrance into the legal profession. After secondary schooling, students who qualify may immediately enrol for an LLB, or may register for the LLB after completing a BCom (Law) or BA (Law) or any other degree.

In the first year students are given a basic introduction to the South African legal system. Emphasis is placed on the development of skills, especially language skills and computer literacy. Students also enrol for/take an additional non-law subject to ensure their exposure to a wide range of subjects.

During the next three years all the core aspects of the law are covered. The Faculty prides itself on its thorough foundation in commercial law, which is of obvious importance to those who will work in the corporate world.

Two features distinguish the fourth year from other LLB programmes in the country. Apart from doing some compulsory courses, students are allowed to select courses in their final year to cultivate their interests and to explore new subject fields.

There are 28 electives, covering areas as diverse as Law and the Community, Environmental Law, Transnational Business Law and Cyber Law. Students are also required to complete an independent research project (dissertation), which has to be presented as part of a seminar.

The Faculty of Law is widely recognised as a leader in the field of postgraduate programmes. The LLM and LLD programmes presented by the Faculty enable students to specialise in their chosen fields by engaging with experts on an advanced level.