University of Pretoria Logo
English |  Afrikaans |    
Department of Nursing Science

Academic Programmes

Click here to Access     

Alternatively, click on the links below to learn more about the Academic Programmes offered by the Department of Nursing Science at UP.

Five degree programmes are offered at the department:

  • Bachelor of Nursing Science (BCur) programme which allows graduates to register with the South African Nursing Council (SANC) as nurses (general, psychiatric and community) and as midwives/accoucheurs. 
  • Bachelor of Nursing Science – Education and Administration (BCur (I et A) – programme provides professional nurses registered with the SANC the opportunity to obtain post-basic professional qualifications. As the programme is offered through flexi-learning, about 650 registered nurses, mostly from rural areas, annually follow non-clinical nursing science courses (Nursing Education and Nursing Management), as well as Community Nursing.  
  • Residential programmes are presented in clinical nursing science (Critical Care, Emergency Nursing, Child Nursing, Operating Theatre Nursing, Neonatal Nursing and primary health), thus improving their skills and knowledge. 
  • Through the Master of Nursing Science (MCur) programme in Advanced Nursing Science nurses get the opportunity to specialise in clinical and non-clinical fields: Nursing Management, Nursing Education, Advanced Psychiatric Nursing, Community Nursing, Critical Care, Emergency Nursing, Neonatal Nursing and Child Nursing. 
  • The PhD and DCur programmes acknowledge the contribution that candidates have made to the development of the theory of nursing.