University of Pretoria Logo
English |  Afrikaans |    
  
Department of Mathematics and Applied Mathematics

Academic staff members

Head of Department

Prof R (Roumen) Anguelov

Professor       

Contact details:

Tel: +27 (0)12 420 2874
Fax: +27 (0)12 420 3893
E-mail: roumen.anguelov@up.ac.za

 

Lecturing staff (full-time)

 
Prof M (Mujahid) Abbas

Associate Professor

Contact details:

Tel: +27 (0)12 420 5445
Fax: +27 (0)12 420 3893
E-mail: mujahid.abbas@up.ac.za
 

 

Dr AR (Rao) Appadu

Lecturer

Contact details:

Tel: +27 (0)12 420 3595
Fax: +27 (0)12 420 3893
E-mail: rao.appadu@up.ac.za


Prof MK (Mapundi) Banda

Professor
Contact details:

Tel: +27 (0)12 420 2544
Fax: +27 (0)12 420 3893
E-mail: mapundi.banda@up.ac.za
 
 

Dr M (Madelein) Basson

Junior Lecturer
Contact details:

Tel: +27 (0)12 420 4367
Fax: +27 (0)12 420 3893
E-mail: madelein.basson@up.ac.za

Mrs K (Karin) Bothma

Junior Lecturer ('Dosent')

Contact details:
Main Campus
Tel: +27 (0)12 420 2374
Fax: +27 (0)12 420 3893

Mamelodi Campus
Tel: +27 (0)12 842 3442
E-mail: karin.bothma@up.ac.za

 

Prof I (Izak) Broere

Professor

Contact details:

Tel: +27 (0)12 420 2611
Fax: +27 (0)12 420 3893
E-mail: izak.broere@up.ac.za
 

Dr M (Michael) Chapwanya

Senior Lecturer 

Contact details:

Tel: +27 (0)12 420 2837
Fax: +27 (0)12 420 3893
E-mail: michael.chapwanya@up.ac.za

Dr PWM (Pius) Chin

Lecturer 

Contact details:

Tel: +27 (0)12 420 3632
Fax: +27 (0)12 420 3893
E-mail: pius.chin@up.ac.za
 

 
Mrs VY (Yolanda) Dinga

Lecturer

 

Contact details:

Main Campus
Tel: +27 (0)12 420 4323
Fax: +27 (0)12 420 3893
Mamelodi Campus
Tel: +27 (0)12 842 3656
E-mail: yollanda.dinga@up.ac.za

 

Dr J (Jules) Djoko Kamdem

Senior Lecturer

Contact details:

Tel: +27 (0)12 420 2007
Fax: +27 (0)12 420 3893
E-mail: jules.djokokamdem@up.ac.za

 

Mrs E (Ezanda) Dreyer

Lecturer

Contact details:

Tel: +27 (0)12 420 3575
Fax: +27 (0)12 420 3893
E-mail: ezanda.dreyer@up.ac.za


Dr SM (Salisu) Garba

Senior Lecturer

Contact details:

Tel: +27 (0)12 420 2528
Fax: +27 (0)12 420 3893
E-mail: salisu.garba@up.ac.za

 

Prof AF (Ansie) Harding

Professor 

Contact details:

Tel: +27 (0)12 420 2738
Fax: +27 (0)12 420 3893
E-mail: ansie.harding@up.ac.za


Dr AS (Alta) Jooste

Lecturer

Contact details:

Tel: +27 (0)12 420 2875
Fax: +27 (0)12 420 3893


Prof KH (Kerstin) Jordaan

Associate Professor 

Contact details:

Tel: +27 (0)12 420 2788
Fax: +27 (0)12 420 3893
E-mail: kerstin.jordaan@up.ac.za

 



Dr R (Ruaan) Kellerman

Lecturer
 

Contact details:

Tel: +27 (0)12 420 2572
Fax: +27 (0)12 420 3893
E-mail: ruaan.kellerman@up.ac.za

 



Dr R (Rodwell) Kufakunesu

Lecturer

Contact details:

Tel: +27 (0)12 420 4142
Fax: +27 (0)12 420 3893
E-mail: rodwell.kufakunesu@up.ac.za

 


Dr C (Ian) le Roux

Senior Lecturer

Contact details:

Tel: +27 (0)12 420 3989
Fax: +27 (0)12 420 3893
E-mail: christiaan.leroux@up.ac.za

 

Prof J-MS (Jean) Lubuma
 

Professor & SARChI Chair

Contact details:

Tel: +27 (0)12 420 2222
Fax: +27 (0)12 420 3893
E-mail: jean.lubuma@up.ac.za

Dr MD (Mokhwetha) Mabula

Lecturer

Contact details:

Tel: +27 (0)12 420 6818
Fax: +27 (0)12 420 3893
E-mail: mokhwetha.mabula@up.ac.za



Dr SM (Charles) Maepa

Senior Lecturer

Contact details:

Tel: +27 (0)12 420 4363
Fax: +27 (0)12 420 3893
E-mail: charles.maepa@up.ac.za

 


Dr MS (Magdaleen) Marais

Lecturer

Contact details:

Tel: +27 (0)12 420 2525
Fax: +27 (0)12 420 3893
E-mail: magdaleen.marais@up.ac.za


Mrs M (May) Marnewick

Junior Lecturer ('Dosent')

Contact details:
Tel: +27 (0)12 420 5879
Fax: +27 (0)12 420 3893
E-mail: may.marnewick@up.ac.za

 
Miss MP (Rita) Möller

Senior Lecturer
Contact details:

Tel: +27 (0)12 420 2279
Fax: +27 (0)12 420 3893
E-mail: rita.moller@up.ac.za

Mrs L (Leonie) Mostert

Lecturer
Contact details:

Tel: +27 (0)12 420 2279
Fax: +27 (0)12 420 3893
E-mail: leonie.mostert@up.ac.za
 

Dr DV (Désirée) Moubandjo

Lecturer
Contact details:

Tel: +27 (0)12 420 5476
Fax: +27 (0)12 420 3893
E-mail: desiree.moubandjo@up.ac.za
 

Dr SA (Simba) Mutangadura

Senior Lecturer
Contact details:

Tel: +27 (0)12 420 2606
Fax: +27 (0)12 420 3893
E-mail: simba.mutangadura@up.ac.za

Dr PP (Patrice) Ntumba

Senior Lecturer
Contact details:

Tel: +27 (0)12 420 4022
Fax: +27 (0)12 420 3893
E-mail: patrice.ntumba@up.ac.za
 

Prof LM (Lou) Pretorius

Professor
Contact details:

Tel: +27 (0)12 420 2858
Fax: +27 (0)12 420 3893
E-mail: lou.pretorius@up.ac.za

Prof JG (James) Raftery

Professor
Contact details:

Tel: +27 (0)12 420 3571
Fax: +27 (0)12 420 3893
E-mail: james.raftery@up.ac.za

Prof M (Mamadou) Sango

Professor
Contact details:

Tel: +27 (0)12 420 2795
Fax: +27 (0)12 420 3893
E-mail: mamadou.sango@up.ac.za
 

Prof A (Anton) Ströh

Professor and
Dean of the Faculty of NAS
Contact details:

Tel: +27 (0)12 420 3201/2478
Fax: +27 (0)12 420 5441
E-mail: anton.stroh@up.ac.za

Prof J (Johan) Swart

Professor
Contact details:

Tel: +27 (0)12 420 2988
Fax: +27 (0)12 420 3893
E-mail: johan.swart@up.ac.za
 

Prof JE (John) van den Berg

Associate Professor
Contact details:

Tel: +27 (0)12 420 2850
Fax: +27 (0)12 420 3893
E-mail: john.vandenberg@up.ac.za
 

Dr Q (Quay) van der Hoff

Lecturer
Contact details:

Tel: +27 (0)12 420 2785
Fax: +27 (0)12 420 3893
E-mail: quay.vanderhoff@up.ac.za
 

Dr JH (Jan Harm) van der Walt

Senior Lecturer
Contact details:

Tel: +27 (0)12 420 2819
Fax: +27 (0)12 420 3893
E-mail: janharm.vanderwalt@up.ac.za
 

Prof NFJ (Nic) van Rensburg

Emiritus Professor
 
Contact details:

Tel: +27 (0)12 420 2740
Fax: +27 (0)12 420 3893
E-mail: nic.vanrensburg@up.ac.za 

Dr AJ (Gusti) van Zyl

Senior Lecturer
Contact details:

Tel: +27 (0)12 420 2784
Fax: +27 (0)12 420 3893
E-mail: gusti.vanzyl@up.ac.za

Miss A (Amanda) Verwey

Lecturer
Contact details:

Tel: +27 (0)12 420 2331
Fax: +27 (0)12 420 3893
E-mail: amanda.verwey@up.ac.za
 

Mr HZ (Harry) Wiggins

Junior Lecturer
Tel: +27 (0)12 420 5872
Fax: +27 (0)12 420 3893
E-mail: harry.wiggins@up.ac.za
 
 


Mrs BM (Bridgette) Yani

Lecturer

Contact details:

Main Campus
Tel: +27 (0)12 420 2875
Fax: +27 (0)12 420 3893
Mamelodi Campus
Tel: +27 (0)12 842 3671
E-mail: bridgette.yani@up.ac.za

 
 Lecturing staff (part-time)
Miss L (Lindie) du Toit

Junior Lecturer ('Dosent') (18 hpw)
Contact details:

Tel: +27 (0)12 420 2485
Fax: +27 (0)12 420 3893
E-mail: lindie.dutoit@up.ac.za 

Dr G (Gaza) Maluleke

Lecturer (10 hpw)
Contact details:

E-mail: gaza@elcom.co.za
              GazaM@scientist.com
 

Prof E (Eben) Maré

Professor (25 hpw)
Contact details:

Tel: +27 (0)12 420 2835
Fax: +27 (0)12 420 3893
E-mail: eben.mare@up.ac.za 
 

Mr PH (Pottie) Potgieter

Lecturer (15 hpw)
Contact details:

Tel: +27 (0)12 420 2851
Fax: +27 (0)12 420 3893
E-mail: pottie.potgieter@up.ac.za 
 

Prof EE (Elemér) Rosinger

Emeritus Professor (15 hpw)
Contact details:

Tel: +27 (0)12 420 2739
Fax: +27 (0)12 420 3893
E-mail: elemer.rosinger@up.ac.za 

Prof N (Niko) Sauer

Extraordinary Professor (15 hpw)
Contact details:

Tel: +27 (0)12 420 3558
Fax: +27 (0)12 420 3893
E-mail: niko.sauer@up.ac.za 
 

Mr YA (Yibeltal) Terefe

Junior Lecturer ('Dosent') (15 hpw)
 Contact details:

Tel: +27 (0)12 420 5882
Fax: +27 (0)12 420 3893
E-mail: yibeltal.terefe@up.ac.za 
 

Mr BY (Belayneh) Yizengaw

Junior Lecturer ('Dosent') (20 hpw)
 Contact details:

Tel: +27 (0)12 420 5882
Fax: +27 (0)12 420 3893
E-mail: belayneh.yizengaw@up.ac.za 
 

 Extraordinary Professors / Lecturers
     
Prof FE (Freddy) Delbaen
Extraordinary Professor
   

Prof J (Joe) Diestel
Extraordinary Professor
 

Prof RE (Ronald) Mickens
Extraordinary Professor
   

Prof KR (Kumbakonan)Rajagopal
Extraordinary Professor
   

Dr MY (Michael) Shatalov
Extraordinary Lecturer
   
 

Postdoctoral Fellows

     
Dr HM (Michel) Djouosseu Tenkam

Postdoctoral Fellow and Assistant Lecturer (18 hpw)
Contact details:

Tel: +27 (0)12 420 5909
Fax: +27 (0)12 420 3893
E-mail: michel.djouosseu@up.ac.za
 

Dr B (Berge) Tsanou

Postdoctoral Fellow
Contact details:

Tel: +27 (0)12 420 5916
Fax: +27 (0)12 420 3893
E-mail: berge.tsanou@up.ac.za
 
     

Staff accredited as Lecturers

Mr GP (Gideon) Brits

Senior Technical Assistant
Contact details:

Main Campus
Tel: +27 (0)12 420 2374
Fax: +27 (0)12 420 3893
E-mail: gideon.brits@up.ac.za 

Groenkloof Campus
Tel: +27 (0)12 420 5707
 
 

Mrs W (Wanda) Conradie

Senior Technical Assistant

Contact details:

Tel: +27 (0)12 420 5879
Fax: +27 (0)12 420 3893
E-mail: wanda.conradie@up.ac.za

Mrs E (Elise) Nel

Senior Technical Assistant
(15 hpw)
Contact details:

Tel: +27 (0)12 420 2713
Fax: +27 (0)12 420 3893
E-mail: elise.nel@up.ac.za 

Mrs JM (Marietjie) Ohlhoff

Senior Technical Assistant
(30 hpw)
Contact details:

Tel: +27 (0)12 420 2851
Fax: +27 (0)12 420 3893
E-mail: marietjie.ohlhoff@up.ac.za 
 

Mrs H (Hanlie) Venter

Senior Technical Assistant
 
Contact details:

Tel: +27 (0)12 420 6816
Fax: +27 (0)12 420 3893
E-mail: hanlie.venter@up.ac.za 
     

Assistant Lecturers

Mr AA (Adebayo) Aderogba

Assistant Lecturer (12 hpw)
 
Contact details:

Tel: +27 (0)12 420 5928
Fax: +27 (0)12 420 3893
E-mail: aderogba_adebayo@yahoo.com
Office: Botany 3-1
 

Mr DF (Dennis) Agbebaku

Assistant Lecturer (10 hpw)
 
Contact details:

Tel: +27 (0)12 420 5924
Fax: +27 (0)12 420 3893
E-mail: dennis.agbebaku@unn.edu.ng
Office: Botany 2-4
 

Mr OD (Olayinka) Arogunjo

Assistant Lecturer (12 hpw)
Contact details:

Tel: +27 (0)12 420 5928
Fax: +27 (0)12 420 3893
E-mail: olayinkaarogunjo@gmail.com
Office: Botany 3-1
 

 Mr NA (Nega Arega) Chere

Assistant Lecturer (18 hpw)
 
 Contact details:

Tel: +27 (0)12 420 5909
Fax: +27 (0)12 420 3893
E-mail: negaarega@yahoo.com
Office: Vetman 1-5
 

 Mr UA (Usman) Danbaba

Assistant Lecturer (12 hpw)
 
 Contact details:

Tel: +27 (0)12 420 5909
Fax: +27 (0)12 420 3893
E-mail: danbaba1986@yahoo.com
Office: Vetman 1-5
 

Ms CC (Claire) Duffourd

Assistant Lecturer (12 hpw)
 
Contact details:

Tel: +27 (0)12 420 5924
Fax: +27 (0)12 420 3893
E-mail: claire.dufourd@gmail.com
Office: Botany 2-4
 

Miss S (Sonja) du Toit

Assistant Lecturer (12 hpw)
Contact details:

Tel: +27 (0)12 420 6931
Fax: +27 (0)12 420 3893
E-mail: sonjadutoit@hotmail.com
Office: Vetman 1-9
 

Mr H (Hagos) Gidey

Assistant Lecturer (12 hpw)
Contact details:

Tel: +27 (0)12 420 6931
Fax: +27 (0)12 420 3893
E-mail: hagos@aims.ac.za
Office: Botany 2-4
 

Mr AS (Shitu) Hassan

Assistant Lecturer (18 hpw)
Contact details:

Tel: +27 (0)12 420 5924
Fax: +27 (0)12 420 3893
E-mail: adamsygu@yahoo.com
Office: Botany 2-4
 

Mr OA (Ayodeji) Jejeniwa

Assistant Lecturer (12 hpw)
Contact details:

Tel: +27 (0)12 420 5928
Fax: +27 (0)12 420 3893
E-mail: jejeniwaayo@yahoo.com
Office: Botany 3-1
 

Mr AS (Abey) Kelil

Assistant Lecturer (12 hpw)
Contact details:

Tel: +27 (0)12 420 5928
Fax: +27 (0)12 420 3893
E-mail: abeysh2001@gmail.com
Office: Botany 3-1
 

Mr MB (Malcolm) King

Assistant Lecturer (18 hpw)
Contact details:

Tel: +27 (0)12 420 2485
Fax: +27 (0)12 420 3893
E-mail: malcolmbruceking@gmail.com
Office: Mathematics 2-35
 

Mr WS (WhaSuck) Lee

Assistant Lecturer (20 hpw)
Contact details:

Tel: +27 (0)12 420 5882
Fax: +27 (0)12 420 3893
E-mail: whasuck.lee@up.ac.za
Office: Mathematics 2-6
 

Miss L (Lesedi) Mabitsela

Assistant Lecturer (24 hpw)
Contact details:

Mamelodi Campus
Tel: +27 (0)12 842 3587
E-mail: lesedi.mabitsela@up.ac.za
Office: D305
   
Mr MDV (Moroli) Matsoha

Assistant Lecturer (12 hpw)
Contact details:

Tel: +27 (0)12 420 6931
Fax: +27 (0)12 420 3893
E-mail: moroli.matsoha@up.ac.za 
Office: Vetman 1-9
 
 

Mr MAY (Mogtaba) Mohammed

Assistant Lecturer (12 hpw)
 
Contact details:

Tel: +27 (0)12 420 5924
Fax: +27 (0)12 420 3893
E-mail: mogtaba@aims.ac.za 
Office: Botany 2-4
 

Mr MT (Mark) Richards

Assistant Lecturer (15 hpw)
Contact details:

Tel: +27 (0)12 420 2485
Fax: +27 (0)12 420 3893
E-mail: mark.richards1989@yahoo.com
Office: Mathematics 2-35
 

Ms P (Preshanti) Sivakumaran

Assistant Lecturer (12 hpw)
Contact details:

Tel: +27 (0)12 420 2485
Fax: +27 (0)12 420 3893
E-mail: preshanthisivakumaran@gmail.com
Office:  Mathematics 2-35
 

Miss B (Belinda) Stapelberg

Assistant Lecturer (12 hpw)
Contact details:

Tel: +27 (0)12 420 2485
Fax: +27 (0)12 420 3893
E-mail: belinnie.stap@gmail.com
Office: Mathematics 2-35

Mr TA (Tesfalem) Tegegn

Assistant Lecturer (12 hpw)
Contact details:

Tel: +27 (0)12 420 5924
Fax: +27 (0)12 420 3893
E-mail: tesfalem@aims.ac.za
Office: Botany 2-4
 

Mr (F (Francis) Youbi

Assistant Lecturer (12 hpw)
Contact details:

Fax: +27 (0)12 420 3893
E-mail: youfra2@yahoo.fr
Office: Vetman 1-9