University of Pretoria Logo
English |  Afrikaans |    
Faculty of Humanities

Welcome to the Faculty of Humanities at the
University of Pretoria


Click here for more information on the World Social Science Forum (WSSF) 2015, ICC, Durban, South Africa, 13 to 16 September 2015. Registration is now open.



UP staff member finds herself in a different league - 25/07/2014
From Department of Visual Arts

Fatima Cassim, who heads the Division of Information Design in the Department of Visual Arts in the Faculty of Humanities at the University of Pretoria, sees increasing potential for design to address some of the complex social, environmental and political problems that society faces. She believes, in particular, that design thinking as a problem-solving methodology can help to envision and enable new futures and mobilise citizens to take action in more meaningful ways. In keeping with this viewpoint, she focuses on design activism and design citizenship in her doctoral thesis at UP.

[Read More]

UP Fine Arts graduate overall winner of the Absa L’Atelier art competition 2014 - 24/07/2014
From Department of Visual Arts

The Absa L’Atelier art competition is South Africa’s most prestigious annual art event. The award to be won in this competition not only assures South Africa’s emerging artists of recognition, but also affords them the opportunity to develop their talents abroad. The competition is run in conjunction with the South African National Association for the Visual Arts (SANAVA). This year, recent UP graduate Liberty Battson was announced the overall winner for 2014.

[Read More]

Invitation: Right to life in Africa - 23/07/2014
From Department of Political Sciences

The Department of Political Sciences and the Institute for International and Comparative Law in Africa (ICLA) invite you to a discussion with Prof Christof Heyns on "The Right to Life in Africa" with a view to developing a research agenda on issues related to this topic.

[Read More]

EUROSA Bursaries for two students of African-European Cultural Relations - 22/07/2014
From Department of Modern European Languages

Two UP students of the degree programme MA African-European Cultural Relations have been awarded a bursary to study in Europe.

[Read More]

Photographs speak louder than words - 22/07/2014
From Department of Visual Arts

Rory du Plessis, Visual Cultural Studies lecturer in the University of Pretoria (UP)'s Department of Visual Arts, has just returned from a fellowship at the Max Planck Institute for History of Science (MPIWG) in Berlin. The awarded fellowship forms part of his interdisciplinary doctoral studies and was in the research cluster 'Encounters between Medicine, Literature, Philosophy and their Circulation in Public Debates'.

[Read More]

Argentine Cultural Week 22-26 Jul
An invitation to the Argentina Cultural Week 22 to 26 July 2014 in Pretoria, Soweto and Johannesburg.

Click here for the electronic flyer of the Argentine Cultural Week

Click here for the booklet of the Argentine Cultural Week 

Public lecture by Professor Jean-Claude Guédon: 28 Jul
The Centre for the Advancement of Scholarship and the Academy of Science for South Africa cordially invite you to a public lecture by Professor Jean-Claude Guédon from the Department of Comparative Literature at the University of Montreal.

"How the centre-periphery structure of scientific communication emerged and what to do about it”

Click here for more information