University of Pretoria Logo
English |  Afrikaans |    
  
Centre for Veterinary Wildlife Studies
Southern African links
 
 
ARC-Onderstepoort Veterinary Institute: http://www.arc.agric.za/home.asp?pid=488
 
Endangered Wildlife Trust http://www.ewt.org.za/home.aspx
 
Dr Dave Cooper, Wildlife Veterinarian: dcooper@kznwildlife.com
 
Faculty of Natural and Agricultural Sciences, University of Pretoria
 
Director: Prof Bob Millar at robertpetermillar@gmail.com
 
 
Conservation Ecology Research Unit http://www.up.ac.za/academic/zoology/ceru/Home.htm
Director: Prof Rudi van Aarde at rjvaarde@zoology.up.ac.za
 
AHEAD-GLTFCA coordinator - Dr Clara Bocchino at  clara.bocchino@up.ac.za
 
Peace Parks Foundation (PPF) http://www.ppf.org.za/
 
SANParks - Veterinary Wildlife Services:  http://www.sanparks.org/conservation/veterinary/
Manager: Dr Markus Hofmeyr: Wildlife Veterinary Unit, Skukuza, Kruger National Park: Manager: Dr Peter Buss:   
The Trans-frontier Conservation Area – Veterinary Programme (TFCA-VP) of the Peace Parks Foundation (PPF): http://www.tfcavp.peaceparks.org/ ;
 
Wildlife Ranching – South Africa http://www.wrsa.co.za/
 
 
  
International links
 
African Wildlife Foundation http://www.awf.org/
 
Alliance of Veterinarians for the Environment http://www.aveweb.org/
 
American Association of Zoo Veterinarians http://www.aazv.org/

American Association of Wildlife Veterinarians 
http://www.aawv.net/
 
Association of Avian Veterinarians http://www.aav.org/

Association of Reptilian and Amphibian Veterinarians http://www.arav.org/

Australian Registry of Wildlife Health http://www.arwh.org/ARWH/Links/Links.aspx
 
British Veterinary Zoological Society (BVZS)  http://www.bvzs.org/
 
Canadian Cooperative Wildlife Health Centre http://wildlife1.usask.ca/en/CCWHC_home.php
 
CITES - Convention on International Trade in Endangered Species of Wild Fauna and Flora  http://www.cites.org/
 
Conservation Breeding Specialist Group (CBSG) http://www.cbsg.org/cbsg/
 
Consortium for Conservation Medicine http://www.conservationmedicine.org/
 
EcoHealth: Conservation Medicine, Human Health, Ecosystem Sustainability
http://www.ecohealth.net/

Emerging Infectious Diseases, a monthly journal published by the CDC
http://www.cdc.gov/
 
 
European Association of Zoos and Aquaria http://www.eaza.net/
 
European Association of Zoo and Wildlife Veterinarians http://www.eazwv.org/php/
 
European Wildlife Disease Association   http://www.ewda.org/
 
International Association for Aquatic Animal Medicine http://www.iaaam.org/

ISIS - International Species Information System  http://www.isis.org/CMSHOME/

IUCN Species Survival Commission's Veterinary Specialist group http://www.iucn-vsg.org/

OIE - Office International des Epizooties 
http://www.oie.int/eng/en_index.htm
 
ProMED, a global electronic reporting system for EID outbreaks   http://www.promedmail.org/ 
 
US CDC - Diseases from Wildlife http://www.cdc.gov/healthypets/animals/wildlife.htm

USDA, Wildlife Services http://www.aphis.usda.gov/ws/nwrc/research/disease_research.html

US Fish & Wildlife Service http://www.fws.gov/
 
Wildlife Disease Association http://www.wildlifedisease.org/index.html
 
Wildlife Information Network (WIN) http://www.wildlifeinformation.org
 
World Association of Zoos and Aquariums http://www.cbsg.org
 
World Conservation Monitoring Centre (WCMC) http://www.unep-wcmc.org

World Conservation Union (IUCN) http://iucn.org/

World Health Organization World Wide Web Server http://www.who.int/en/
 
World Wide Fund for Nature (WWF) http://www.panda.org/