University of Pretoria Logo
English |  Afrikaans |    

Alumni Gallery 

The following proud alumni are examples of our high calibre graduates.  This is by no means complete. There are many more high profile and well-known Alumni.  Also have a look at our 
Laureate recipients since 1974.  
1  2  3  4  5
6  7  8  9
10  11  12  13  
14  15  16  17
18   19  20  21
22   23  24  25 
26   27   28  29  
30    31   32   33
34    35    36    37
  1. The late Dr Anton Rupert - Former Tukkie of the Century*
  2. Chris Barnard: Author 
  3. Dr Willem Barnard: Former CEO: KWV 
  4. Dr Steve Booysen: Former CEO: Absa Bank      
  5. Carrol Boyes: Artist and business leader 
  6. Anton Botha: Business leader 
  7. Tobie Cronjé: Actor and TV personality                                                  
  8. Jana Cilliers: Actor and TV-personality
  9. Dr Mimi Coertse: Opera personality
  10. Eloise Cupido: Actor and TV personality
  11. Johan de Nysschen: President: Infiniti Motor Company Ltd. Hong Kong
  12. Dr Jan d'Oliveira: Judge
  13. Etienne de Villiers: Non-executive chairman of Virgin racing               
  14. Prof Esmé du Plessis: Formeer Chairperson: UP Council, Adams & Adams Partner
  15. Dr Con Fauconnier: CEO: Kumba Resources
  16. Minister Geraldine Fraser-Moleketi: Former Minister of Public Service & Administration 
  17. Leo Haese: CEO: Leo Haese BMW Group                                     
  18. Helena Hettema: Actor and singer
  19. Johann Kriegler: Judge                                                
  20. Dr David Mabunda: Former CEO: Sanparks
  21. Matsie Matooane: Group Manager HR, Tiger Brands                                    
  22. Pinky Phosa: Mpumalanga Government, Community leader
  23. Margaret Robers,  Business leader & herb expert
  24. Willem Roos: MD, OUTsurance
  25. Judge Willie Seriti: Judge 
  26. Wicus Slabbert: International Opera Star                                            
  27. Dr Chris Stals: Business leader & former UP Chancellor
  28. Amanda Strydom: Actor, singer & TV personality                                              
  29. Carel Trichardt: Actor & academic                            
  30. Dr Johan van Zyl: CEO: Sanlam 
  31. Angus van Zyl Taylor:  Sculptor, artist  
  32. Verna Vels: Voice artist & television director 
  33. Kennedy Bungane:  Deputy CEO: Standard Bank SA
  34. Khungeka Njobe: Group Executive: CSIR
  35. Dr Liesbeth Botha:  Executive Director: CSIR
  36. Anati Canca: Executive Director: ARC 
  37. Prof  Zaidel-Rudolph: Music Professor, Musician & Composer  
More examples of some of our well-known  Alumni

Media, actors, singers, musicians, artists and TV personalities
  • Aleta Michaletos
  • Melinda Bam
  • Adriaan Bergh 
  • Nedine Blom
  • Sumien Brink  
  • Gareth Cliff
  • Bettie Celliers-Barnard *
  • Charl du Plessis
  • Katinka Heyns
  • Zanta Hofmeyr
  • Carike Keuzenkamp
  • Chris Linford
  • Prof Anna Neethling-Pohl *
  • Sandra Prinsloo
  • Fanus Rautenbach *
  • Freek Robinson
  • Paul Rothman
  • Ben Schoeman
  • Carel Trichardt & Petru Wessels
  • Liezel van der Westhuizen
  • Richard van der Westhuizen
  • Brümilde van Rensburg
  • Ockie Vermeulen
  • Wim Viljoen
  • Sorina Erasmus
  • Jak de Priester
  • Judge Anna-maria de Vos
  • Judge Frikkie Eloff  (President of the Convocation)
  • Judge Antonie Gildenhuys
  • Judge Johan Kriegler
  • Judge Louis Harms (Supreme Court of Appeal)
  • Judge Willem Heath
  • Prof Papa Maithufi: Academic, SA Law Commission 
  • Prof Jannie Otto
  • Judge Piet Streicher (Supreme Court of Appeal)
  • Judge Willie Seriti
  • Prof Susan Scott
  • Dire Tladi
  • Judge John Trengove: Law 
  • Adv Wim Trengove                                             
  • Adv Kobus van Rooyen
  • Prof Derek van der Merwe
  • Judge Deon van Zyl
  • Judge Leonora van den Heever
  • Judge Willem van der Merwe
  • Judge Johann van der Westhuizen  (Constitution Court)
  • Prof Marinus Wiechers
Business leaders and entrepreneurs
  • Dr James Barnard: International inventor of the Bardenpho Process for water treatment
  • Anton Botha: Chairperson of Vukile Property Fund
  • Lourens Botha: Entrepreneur
  • Dr Piet Botha: Businessman & Vice-Chairperson of UP Council 
  • Nick Christodoulou: CEO: Sanlam Business Development
  • Willie Coetzee: GM: Afrox
  • Gillian Corken: CEO: Quintiles (Africa)
  • Marthin de Beer: Senior Vice-President at Cisco
  • Louis de Kock: Entrepreneurial Farmer, business leader
  • Charles de Kock: OU Mutual
  • Laurie Dippenaar: First Rand
  • Chris Griffith: CEO: Kumba Iron Ore  
  • Ralph Havenstein: CEO of Norilsk Nickel International

  • Moses Kgosana: CEO and Senior Parner of KPMG SA
  • Ben Kruger: MD: Standard Corporate & Merchant Bank
  • Dr Bingle Kruger: Engineer, business leader 
  • Dr M.N. Hermann: Clover SA, Business Leader 
  • Nomfanelo Magwentshu: Corporate advisor
  • Dr Meyer Kahn: SAB-Miller
  • Dr Rivka Kfir: CEO: Water Commission
  • Dr Marius Kloppers: Former International CEO of Billiton  
  • Russell Loubser: Former CEO: JSE
  • Hillie Meyer: Entrepreneur
  • Kobus Möller: Executive Manager: Finance, Sanlam
  • Benjamin Mophatlane: CEO: Business Connexion
  • Dr Skhumbuzo Ngozwana: Deputy CEO: Cipla Medpro 
  • Pine Pienaar: CEO: Mvelaphanda Resources Group
  • Roland Röhrs: Group CEO, Dorbyl Ltd. 
  • Willem Roos: CEO: Outsurance 
  • Moses Singo: Business leader
  • Peter Staude: CEO: Tongaat-Hulett   
  • Bernard Swanepoel: Former CEO of Harmony, CEO of To The Point 
  • Giam Swiegers: CEO: Deloitte Australia
  • Dr Andries Terblanche: Chair: KPMG Financial Services, Australia 
  • Jack (Elzer) van der Merwe:  CEO: Gautrain Rapid Rail Link
  • Dr Leon Vermaak: CEO Telesure 
  • Alex Wapnick: Former Chairperson: City Property *  
Authors, academics
  • Antjie Krog: Poet and academic
  • Prof Dowlat Bangwadeen: Academic 
  • Prof Elize Botha: Former Chancellor of US*
  • Dr Cecile Cilliers: Author
  • Prof Joan Hambidge:  Author, poet, academic
  • Chris Karsten: Author
  • Prof Tshilidzi Marwala: Academic, engineer
  • Henning Pieterse: Author
  • Prof Karin Skawran: Doyen of SA art historians
  • Prof John Skinner: International expert: Zoology and Mammology * 
  • Hennie van Deventer: Author
  • Prof Mike Wingfield: Academic, scientist                                                   

Health and medicine

  • Dr Daan de Klerk
  • Prof Dion du Plessis: Netcare SA
  • Dr Oppel Greeff: Health Sciences, business leader 
  • Dr Viktor Hesse: Health Sciences, business leader 
  • Dr Willie Koen: Head of Heart Transplant Unit, Christiaan Barnard Memorial Hospital                                                                      
  • Prof Charlotte P. Searle: First professor of the chair of nursing in South Africa *                                  
Sport personalities
  • Sportmen & Sportwomen of the Year & UP Sport Hall of Fame
  • Victor Matfield was Tukkies' 4th Springbok Captain. The others were:
    • Wynand Claassen
    • Naas Botha
    • Joost van der Westhuizen
  • Heyneke Meyer - Well-known former coach of the Blue Bulls 
  • Pierre Spies
  • Garry Botha
  • Danie Rossouw
  • Wynand Olivier
  • ...and many more in all sport codes.
Theologians, wellfare, pshychology
  • Archbishop Desmond Tutu 
  • Prof Piet Meiring
  • Dr Louise Olivier: Forensic Psychologist 
  • Dr Micky Pistorius: Forensic Psychologist 
  • Nelson Mandela  (Honorary Doctorate, LLD, 1997)*

 See more prominent alumni at