University of Pretoria Logo
English |  Afrikaans |    
Department of Physics

Academic Programmes

The academic teaching programmes strive to give the students not only a broad based knowledge of physics but to foster analytical and problem-solving skills. The undergraduate (up to BSc) course structure is basically the traditional one with a few courses (such as physics modelling using computer programming, and materials science) to prepare the students for the job market. In the first and third years, projects are also offered to students to introduce them to real world physics and to research. The postgraduate BSc(Hons) course continues with this philosophy but introduces more speciality courses. The MSc and PhD are research based.
More information on the course structure can be found under the following sections :

Undergraduate Programmes

Postgraduate Programmes