University of Pretoria Logo
English |  Afrikaans |    
Drama Department

Postgraduate programme

Please note: All applications are managed by CSC and students have to apply online.

Congratulations on starting your journey into the postgraduate world with the Drama Department, UP. It is a fascinating and rewarding world that lies ahead of you. As you select your courses you are, for the first time, able to start planning the specific direction in which you would want your thinking and your career to proceed. You will be starting on the journey that can eventually make you one of the specialists in the world in your chosen area.


The Drama Department offers the exciting and innovative BA (Hons) in Drama and Film Studies. 


• An applicable BA-degree with an average of 65% for the third year of studies - including the Drama and Film Studies (DFK) modules presented at the University of Pretoria, or;
• An equivalent degree obtained at another tertiary institution;
• Departemental selection may involve an interview as well as a preliminary externally moderated exam. 

The DFK 771 course is compulsory for all honours students. Candidates need to select an additional two courses. All courses are year-long courses only.
The following courses are presented: 

DFK 771 - Extended Research Essay (compulsory)
DFK 774 - Writing for the Media
DRA 702 - Performance Studies 
DRA 703 - Directing
DRA 704 - Applied Theatre
DRA 705 - Movement 
DRA 709 - Performance Arts Management 
DRA 710 - New Media, Digital Media and Performance 

For more information, please email Dr Myer Taub (honours course coordinator) at   


The Drama Department welcomes letters of intent to be sent to by 30 September 2014.

The Drama Department offers the following MA programmes:
MA (Drama): Research
MA (Drama and Film Studies): Research
MA (Drama): Performance

To be admitted to an MA, you need to have obtained an average of 65% across your honours studies. Your previous qualifications should be in drama and/or film related areas.

For any information pertaining to the Drama Department's MA offering, please contact MA-coordinator Chris Broodryk at   


The Drama Department offers the following DPhil programmes:
DPhil (Drama)
DPhil (Drama and Film Studies)

For any queries regarding the DPhil offering, please contact the coordinator, Prof Marie-Heleen Coetzee, at