University of Pretoria Logo
English |  Afrikaans |    
Education Innovation
Education Innovation Awards 2012

Education Innovation Awards 2012

The aim of the award is to acknowledge exceptional contributions to education innovation by staff of the University of Pretoria.


  • Nomination is open to academic staff with teaching appointments, as well as all academic support staff at the University of Pretoria (with the exclusion of Department for Education Innovation staff). 
  • Both individual and team nominations are invited.
  • Previous winners are eligible for nomination for novel contributions.
  • The nomination must be submitted to the Dean for recommendation, whereafter the nominations are directed to the Director:Department for Education Innovation.
The nominee(s) should be responsible for an innovative development that has resulted in improvements to the quality of the student learning environment. ‘Innovation’ can include the development of new practices or products and/or modification or adoption of existing practices or products within a discipline or across faculties within the University, or in the community. Standard expected good teaching practice should convincingly be exceeded and evidence of sustainability, positive impact and acceptance should be provided in the form of student feedback or appraisal by peers.

Candidates can be nominated in any one of the following four categories:

  1. Innovation in assessment:
    awards the implementation of innovative assessment methods/practices that encourage students to develop critical thinking skills and promote learning and academic independence.
  2. Innovation in curriculum development and/or learning materials:
    awards novel approaches to learning and teaching, which may address challenges within the learning environment in a unique manner or may utilise the potential of new and/or emerging technologies.
  3. Innovation in learning facilitation / teaching (teaching strategies and methodologies):
    awardsapproaches to teaching that influence, motivate and inspire students to learn;
    andcontribute to the development of independent critical thinking and scholarly
  4. Innovation in student learning support:
    awards initiatives that promote student learning and success by, for example, promoting their study skills (academic development/performance) and addressing individual learner and/or preferences.
Please see the full electronic invitation:  Rewarding Innovation in Teaching

How to participate:
  • Candidates who wish to participate in the innovation awards need to be nominated by their Faculties. 
  • Faculties will be allowed to nominate two innovations for the awards. 
  • Candidates in a Faculty who want to participate in the innovation awards need to submit an abstract to the Faculty structures for evaluation by 30 April 2012.
  • Please consult with the Dean/Deputy Dean on what the process will be. 
  • The Abstract must not exceed 200 words. 
  • The Faculty will evaluate all the abstracts according to the available rubric and nominate two innovations. 
  • The names of these candidates together with their faculty recommendation needs to be sent to Prof Kilfoil.
See process and due dates

After your innovation has been nominated, a portfolio on the new clickUP system must be compiled:

  • Attend Protfolio Training Friday 25 May 2012 from 9:00 - 12:00 or
  • Tuesday 29 May 2012 from 09:00 - 12:00 - details will follow
  • Please consult your Education Consultant for any other questions or assistance
Closing date: Please see the Evaluation process document, under important documents, for all the due dates.

Important documents related to your submission:

An external evaluator will be appointed.  As the evaluation process is a peer-review process, such a person will elevate the objectivity of the evaluation.  The final ranking will be done by the external evaluator, taking into account the rankings of all the other role-players.

Awards Ceremony
All results of the evaluation process will be made public at the awards ceremony on 18 October 2012.