University of Pretoria Logo
English |  Afrikaans |    
UP Centre for Sustainable Malaria Control

Molecular Approaches to Malaria conference

By Karin Fischer

Posted on 28 March 2012

Four members of the UP CSMC recently attended and presented research at the Molecular Approaches to Malaria conference in Lorne, Australia (19-23 Feb 2012).

This conference is the elite conference in its field focussed on molecular advances in the fight against malaria.

From their website:  Continuing a tradition of combining scientific excellence, collaboration and enjoyment, which has been a central feature of the previous three meetings, MAM2012 will focus on the very latest developments in malaria research, covering the spectrum in molecular advances from protein structure and single molecule imaging, cell biology and pathogenesis, right through to host immunity, systems biology and the latest developments in drug discovery/resistance and vaccines – all with an emphasis on cutting edge molecular approaches. As well as confirmed talks form leaders in the field, there will be focused workshops on systems approaches to malaria research, drug discovery, and strategies towards the development of a complete in vitro parasite lifecycle.

South Africans were well represented at the conference (see attached photo) including UP CSMC members Prof Lyn-Marie Birkholtz, Prof Braam Louw, postdoctoral fellow Jandeli Niemand and PhD students Bianca Verlinden and Shaun Reeksting. Both Jandeli and Bianca received prestigious Wellcome Trust Travel Fellowships to attend the conference.

Included in the photo are other members of the South African Malaria Initiative (partner of the UP CSMC).

Front row (Left to right)  – Prof Braam Louw (UP CSMC), Kelly Chibale, (UCT) Ingrid PhD (Rhodes)
Prof Lyn-Marie Birkholtz (UP CSMC), Greg Blatch (Victoria University)

Second row (Left to right)  – Jandeli Niemand (UP), Kevin Saliba (ANU), Rhodes representative, Theresa Coetzer (Wits), UCT representative, Rhodes representative, Bianca Verlinden PhD (UP), Shaun Reeksting PhD (UP) and Dennis PhD (UCT).

Bookmark this page: