University of Pretoria Logo
English |  Afrikaans |    
Department of Music

Welcome to the Department of Music

The Department of Music belongs to the Faculty of Humanities at the University of Pretoria (UP). The Department caters for practical music, music education and musicology, thus uniting fields of study that, in Europe, would otherwise be divided between university and conservatory. Besides offering tuition in all the usual instruments of Western art music, the Department is placing increasing emphasis on the study and performance of indigenous African music, jazz and popular styles. Our BMus and BA (Mus) programmes offer tuition in all these styles. The Department also offers the only music therapy programme at master's level on the African continent.

Head of the Department of Music: Prof Wim Viljoen



Tuks student wins prestigious music competition - 09/09/2014
From Department of Music

During a prestigious event on Saturday, 6 September in the Musaion concert hall on the University of Pretoria (UP)ís Hatfield Campus, UP student Willem de Beer, was named the overall winner of the Afrikaanse Taal-en-Kultuurverening (ATKV)ís national instrumental classical music competition, ATKV-Muziq. Willem is a student of UPís renowned piano teacher, Professor Joseph Stanford.

[Read More]