University of Pretoria Logo
English |  Afrikaans |    
Faculty of Health Sciences


The University of Pretoria's medical school was the first to change over from a traditional curriculum to an integrated, problem-oriented curriculum. The curriculum is outcomes-based and the content is organised around body organs and systems. It contains a larger component of community health and primary health care than the former curriculum. The curriculum enables the Faculty to realise its vision of local relevance and international competitiveness. Encompassing research and wide international and national consultation with other medical institutions led to the designing and implementation of this new, undergraduate, medical curriculum in 1997. In 1996, an Educational Office was established to manage the implementation of the different phases of the curriculum over six years (1997-2002).

However, all the curricula of the other undergraduate courses presented in the Faculty were all re-evaluated. The new problem-based curricula offered at undergraduate levels in the Schools of Medicine, Dentistry and Healthcare Sciences all contain elements of community-based training, integrated problem-solving tuition that is outcomes based, and provides early contact with patients, with an emphasis on psychomotoric skills. Some of the modules in the School of Healthcare Sciences are presented jointly, in the process preventing a duplication of modules and promoting the interdisciplinary cooperation between the professional groups that are included in the School. The School strives to continuously integrate theory and practice in teaching and learning.

The Health Professions Council of South Africa (HPCSA) formally accredited the new undergraduate programmes in medicine and in dentistry in 2001.