University of Pretoria Logo
English |  Afrikaans |    
Museums & Collections

Museums & Collections:
The University of Pretoria Art Collection 


The UP Art Collection contains the work of 390 painters and graphic artists, 80 sculptors and 25 potters. There are large collections of paintings by particular artists, such as Bettie Cilliers-Barnard (88 works), Christo Coetzee (188 works), Erich Mayer (320 works), Jacob Pierneef (64 works), Frans Oerder (43 works), Gregoire Boonzaier (42 works), Armando Baldinelli (11 works), Ranko Pudi (10 works) and Sam Ngethwa (7 works). Although the nucleus of the collection consists mainly of the work of the older established section of South African art, recent acquisitions of the work of contemporary artists such as Tommy Motswai, Daniel Mosako, Velaphi Mzimba, Fanzile Masombuka, William Kentridge, Willie Bester, Georgie Papageorge, Frikkie Eksteen and others, have made the collection much more representative of South African art. 
The sculpture collection, the largest in South Africa, contains work by Sidney Kumalo, Mike Edwards, Angus Taylor, Juan Couzyn, Willem de Sanderes Hendriks, Gerhard de Leeuw, Fanie Eloff, Laurika Postma, Isaac Seoka, Maureen Quin, Michael Teffo, Lucky Sibya, Ian Redlinghuys, Anton Smit and others.

All these artworks are displayed in buildings spread over the University campuses. These works can be viewed by special appointment and have been integrated into the academic programmes of various departments of the University of Pretoria. 

The University owns artworks by prominent international artists such as Max Pechstein, Käthe Kollwitz, Max Lieberman, George Grosz, Otto Mueller, Thomas Benton, Karol Felix and others.
At present the collection consists of 2760 paintings and graphics, 830 sculptures and 50 ceramic pieces.