University of Pretoria Logo
English |  Afrikaans |    


About the Department of Informatics

The Department of Informatics is based in the Faculty of Engineering, Built Environment and Information Technology as of January 2000, but is also one of the three 'home' departments of the formally-constituted School of Information Technology.

Although the Department is situated in another faculty, our degrees are still conferred in the Faculty of Economic and Management Sciences and as such the Faculty imposes the obligation to continue to offer the full range of undergraduate and postgraduate degrees in Informatics as well as a variety of specialized 'service' courses for other degrees within this Faculty.  

However, being part of the School has also resulted in considerable benefits for our Department. We contribute towards the academic degrees of the School of which the master's in Information Technology started in 1999 and the B.IT. in 2000. Cooperation between the three departments has also lead to a move in the direction of interdisciplinary research. This should result in increased research opportunities as well as an increase in the number of students following our courses. 


About the University of Pretoria

UP is the leading research university in South Africa and one of the largest in the country.


In 2008, student numbers totalled 57 409 (38 934 contact and 18 475 distance). The University has six campuses and a number of other sites of operation such as the Pretoria Academic Hospital. Central administration is located at the Hatfield campus.


The University of Pretoria offers its more than 1800 academic programmes in two of the official languages, namely Afrikaans and English. (Some programmes and modules are offered only in English.)

In 1996, the University of Pretoria became the university with the highest research output in South Africa and we have maintained this status.


UP celebrated its Centenary in 2008.


The academic programmes of the University are offered in the following nine faculties and a business school. The faculties comprise a total of 140 departments and 85 centres, institutes and bureaus.

UP is at the forefront of tertiary education in the country and we collaborate with world-class partners to ensure continued excellence in learning and teaching.



Business School: