University of Pretoria Logo
English |  Afrikaans |    
School of Information Technology

About the School of IT

The School of Information Technology at the University of Pretoria is a unique institution for tertiary education in the field of information technology.

Formed in April 1998, the School consists of the three academic Departments of Computer Science, Informatics and Information Science. Close links also exist with the Department of Electrical, Electronic and Computer Engineering. Three-year degree programmes and postgraduate degrees are offered in each of the three disciplines.  The MIT degree opens exciting study prospects to IT-practitioners. Apart from being a capstone degree for the practitioner, it also leads to the PhD (IT).

The School is one of the three Schools in the Faculty of Engineering, Built Environment and Information Technology (EBIT).