University of Pretoria Logo
English |  Afrikaans |    
Tourism Management Division

About the Tourism Management Division

The Tourism Management Division is part of the Department of Marketing Management and is aimed, through its management focus, at delivering potential leaders to the tourism industry. Tourism as a management science is strengthened through the generic BCom first-year subjects and the Tourism Management curriculum for second- and third-years students, which consists of core subjects such as Destination Marketing, Hospitality Management and Ecotourism. Our courses are in line with those of the top universities in tourism internationally. We have developed exciting new modules, such as eTourism, Air Transport in Tourism and Business Travel to provide our graduates with the best possible grounding in tourism.

The Tourism Management Division has a strong research focus on the many developments within this dynamic industry and partners with the National Department of Tourism, SANParks and international universities, such as the University of Oulu in Finland, to deliver high quality research.

Our vision is to be the first choice for students who wish to become future leaders in the tourism industry, to ground our degree in cutting-edge research in this most dynamic of all industries and to strengthen our industry collaboration to the benefit of all our students.