University of Pretoria Logo
English |  Afrikaans |    

NTS Awards

Posted on 07 June 2009

It is with great pleasure that we can announce that TuksSwimming scooped numerous awards and prizes at the NTS prize giving and AGM last week Saturday.

Northern Tigers Swimming




Steven Ball - Telkom SA National Aquatic Championships, 2009

Marco vd Sluys - Telkom SA National Aquatic Championships, 2009

Jan Nel - Bestmed SA National B Open Championships, 2009



Johan Meyer - Telkom SA National Aquatic Championships, 2009

Henk vd Laarse - Telkom SA National Aquatic Championships, 2009

Anton Jordaan - Telkom SA National Aquatic Championships, 2009



William Diering

Johannes du Rand

Lyndon Ferns

Emily Gray

Roland Schoeman

Cameron vd Burgh

Gerhard Zandberg





Nandi vd Sluys

Chereze vd Sluys

Addy vd Sluys

Marcus vd Sluys

Andre Botha

Dirk Uys



Open Water Swimming

Tyron Venter Reenen du Plessis


Jenna Bekker

Werner Bosman

Werner Botes

Christopher Cowley

Vaughan de Jager

Phillipus de Waal

Suanne de Wet

Yolana du Plessis

Gideon du Toit

Kayla Ferreira

Marius Hattingh

Marko J v Nieuwenhuizen

Warren Karsten

Pierre Keune

Waldo Kruger

Kirsten Lapham

Dirk Lambrechts

Jason Lawson

Francois Malan

Nico Meyer

Vanessa Mohr

Kerryn Mullin

Darren Murray

Maxine Powell

Karin Prinsloo

Kyle van Huizen

Conrad v Rensburg

Fouche Venter

Tyron Venter

Leone Vorster

Gregory Widmer

Jurie Wilken

Giulio Zorzi







Diving - Junior

Marina Colantoni

Marco vd Sluys

Tyler Hyman



Nelia Enslin

Fabienne Marsay

Amore Nel

Simone Nel

Kristen Nicholson

Michelle Pistorius

Kamilla Snyman

Delano Abdoll

Jodi Adriaanse

JG Bergenthuin

Ricardo da Silva

Darryl Dehrman

Quintin Delie

Marco la Grange

Marno Langeveldt

Andre Lawler

JP Nathrass

Eric vd Sande

John v Duyn

Stefan Venter

Chris Viljoen

Gareth Livingstone

Naude Opperman




Honorary membership is awarded to:

Ernst de Jong


Ernst de Jong was born in Pretoria in 1934. He has lived most of his life in this city He started diving at an early age and in 1960 became South African Diving champion on springboard representing Northern Transvaal as it then was. He was awarded Springbok colours for diving. As a coach he produced a number of South African champions including Vivian Breedt, Martin Lundie, Gina Laurie, [all of whom were awarded their national colours].


During the seventies Ernst formed the South African Diving Union which independently administered South African diving. Under his leadership many international divers were brought out to South Africa and competed with NTS and South African divers in a series of international diving extravaganzas in venues all over South Africa such as Vanderbijlpark, Pietersburg/Polokwane, Pretoria, Ellis Park and Worcester.


One of his greatest contributions to South African and NTS diving has been his visionary approach to the provision of diving facilities to Pretoria. Ernst and his brother, Gerry, saw the need for a standalone diving centre and proceeded to build the de Jong Diving Centre in Roper Street, Pretoria. Long before synchronised diving was the TV spectacle that it now is, Ernst saw the prospect of synchronised diving as a sport and erected the first ever twin 3m diving platform in Africa. Once the diving centre was fully operational it was donated as gift to the citizens of Pretoria. It is one of the best diving pools in Africa.


Ernst served many years on the NTS executive from the sixties, seventies and into the eighties. He has maintained his interest in the sport. He won 3 gold medals [on 1m, 3m and on platform] at the FINA World Masters’ Diving Championships Munich in 2000. Last year he served as Jury of Appeal for the SSA National Age Groups, RSA Cup and South African Novices tournaments hosted by NTS Diving at the de Jong Centre. Ernst de Jong is still the Patron of the de Jong Diving Club which is the oldest independent diving club in South Africa.


Over and above his interests in aquatics over the last six decades, Ernst has taken part in and achieved national colours in other sports such as fencing, shooting and archery too. He recently took up horse riding / show jumping and coaches his daughter, who is a world rated equestrian.


Ernst is an internationally renowned artist who has exhibited his artworks all over the world. He is well known locally for the gigantic fire screen at the State Theatre. He designed the second definitive series of South African postage stamps. He designed the South African banknotes with the animals. He runs and founded the prestigious Academy of Fine Art in Pretoria.


For his lifelong dedication to aquatic sport Ernst de Jong is nominated a life member of Northern Tigers Swimming


Meritorious is awarded to:

Elsabe van Dalen (Administration)

Lydia Swart (Administration)

Lood Wedemeyer (Equipment & Officiating)

Peter Kruger (President)

Rhett Gardiner (Diving)

Ron Fyfe (Diving)

Laura Postma (Team management & Committees)

Hettie la Grange (Committees, Officiating & Team management)

Pam Reyneke (Learn to swim)

Piet Moseke (Pool Maintenance)

George Maluleka (Pool Maintenance)

Cathy George (schools)

Igor Omeltchenko (3 in Olympics, 1 in Paraympics)


Recognition is given to the following persons served as members of the LOC for Hosting SSA B Nationals:

Benita Kleynhans, Tuks

Elsabe van Dalen, Hillcrest

Gerald Goles, Centurion

Japie Brits, Tuks

Kallie Knoetze, Myrmidons

Lood Wedemeyer, Tuks

Ena Wedemeyer


Recognition of our swimmers & divers:

Nandi vd Sluys, De Jong Diver of the year Female

Addy vd Sluys, De Jong Diver of the year Male

Ingrid Coetzee, Diadora Swimmer of the Year Female Level 1 13 & u

Louw Oberholzer, Diadora Swimmer of the Year Male Level 1 13 & u

Chantelle Hyman, Tuks Swimmer of the Year Female Level 1 14 & O

Jan Knoetze, Myrmidons Swimmer of the Year Male Level 1 14 & O

Marlies Ross, Tuks Swimmer of the Year Female Level 2 13 & u

Eben Vorster, Centurion Swimmer of the Year Male Level 2 13 & u

Chrizalda Smit, Tuks Swimmer of the Year Female Level 2 14 & O

Ferdi Louw, Diadora Swimmer of the Year Male Level 2 14 & O

Vanessa Mohr, Diadora Swimmer of the Year Female Level 3 14 & U

Michael Petersen, Players Swimmer of the Year Male Level 3 14 & U

Suanne de Wet Swimmer of the Year Female Level 3 15 & O

Gideon du Toit, Diadora Swimmer of the Year Male Level 3 15 & O

Michelle Pistorius, Tuks Swimmer of the Year Female B Nationals

Stefan Venter, Tuks Swimmer of the Year Male B Nationals

Karin Prinsloo, Tuks Swimmer of the Year Female Snr Nationals

William Diering, Tuks Swimmer of the Year Male Snr Nationals

Marko vd Sluys, De Jong Coach Diver

Karien Theron, Diadora Coach Level 1

Rocco Meiring, Tuks Coach Level 2

Igor Omeltchenko, Tuks Coach Level 3

Steven Ball, Tuks Coach B Nat

Igor Omeltchenko, Tuks Coach Snr Nat

Roland Schoeman SC Record in 2008/2009 season

Cameron vd Burgh Swimmer of the Year Overall

Igor Omeltchenko, Tuks NTS Coach of the Year Overall


Bookmark this page:


Post Comment
Items marked with a * are required
At least one of the items marked with ** must be entered.

Your Contact Information
Name *
Your Email address *
Subject *
Message *
Security image *
Security Code
Please enter the text in the security image *